Youth in fifth through 12th grades are invited to submit an application for membership on the Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council (?YGC?). The YGC is comprised of students in Scott County who learn about fundraising, grantmaking, leadership and community service. Students must either be residents or attend school in Scott County, and homeschooled students are invited to apply as well.

There will be four open slots as voting members beginning Oct. 1. Voting members agree to attend at least half of the monthly meetings, serve on at least one committee, and are responsible for the fundraising and grantmaking portions of the YGC in addition to the leadership and community service aspects. The youth conduct several fundraisers each year to raise money for the youth of Scott County. They also award grants to the community for youth-related projects, using earnings from their endowment fund at the Scott County Community Foundation.

Applications are accepted year-round for the Community Service Committee, which has no limit to the number of members. These members commit to serving 10 hours a year through monthly service projects and other YGC special events. Past projects include stocking shelves at the Clearinghouse, filling backpacks with school supplies and food for children, assembling water purification kits for Third World countries, beautifying the community, and much more.

All members of the YGC are invited to a yearly philanthropy conference in Indianapolis, where they can network with other youth from across the state and learn skills to take back to our community.

If you are interested in joining, you are welcome to contact any YGC member for more information on their experiences. They include: Carmen Boley, Brandon Boswell, Lindsey Boswell, Sera Craig, Josiah Croasdell, Hannah Dickerson, Elle Fleenor, Justice Gabbard, Braden Hale, Alexa Howser, Evan Howser, Lauren Howser, Ally Ingalls, Kevin Jentzen, Eliza Mount, Isaak Mount, Kaleb Mount, Haley Mullins, Izzy Myszak, Minwoo Noh, Caity Rice, Jordan Shuler, Braxton Soloe, Hunter Steinkamp, Luke Taylor, Jordan Thomas, Lauren Turner, Emma Waskom, Caleb White and Tyler White.

Youth can obtain an application by contacting the Scott County Community Foundation at 752-2057, email or stopping in the office at 60 N. Main St., Scottsburg. You may also visit the website at