Scott County Community Foundation board member Chris Routt presents a grant for $500 to Johnson Elementary School Principal Jordan Warner. Also shown are Aiden Shuler, Scarlett Sebastian, Kynlee Orman, Jayden Donohue, Aubrey Best and Aurelia Randall, the top HERO point earners for the school year. Johnson Elementary was awarded a grant from the Gladys A. Berna Education Fund, through the Community Foundation, for their HERO positive behavior incentive program. This is the first grant awarded from the Gladys A. Berna Education Fund, which was established to honor the legacy of ?Miss Gladys,? who taught in Scott County for 38 years. The purpose of the fund is to help students in any way that will further their education, while taking some of the burden off teachers.

?Being a recipient of the Gladys Berna grant changes the educational opportunities we are able to provide to our students, but more importantly changes the lives of our students by providing opportunities we sometimes take for granted,? shared Warner.

To donate to the Gladys A. Berna Education Fund, you may mail your tax-deductible contribution to the Scott County Community Foundation at PO Box 25; Scottsburg, IN 47170. You may also stop in the office at 60 N. Main St., Scottsburg. For more information, call 812-752-2057, email or visit