The Scott County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2022 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship, Lara McGlothlin of Scottsburg High School. Lilly Endowment Community Scholars are known for their community involvement, academic achievement, character and leadership. She joins 40 other Lilly Scholar recipients from Scott County since 1998.

Each Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides for full tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis leading to a baccalaureate degree at any eligible Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university. Lilly Scholars may also participate in the Lilly Scholars Network (LSN), which connects scholars with resources and opportunities to be active leaders on their campuses and in their communities. Both the scholarship program and LSN are supported by grants from Lilly Endowment to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI).

Lara is the daughter of Matthew and Melanie McGlothlin of Scottsburg. She serves as a member of EMPOWER Youth Coalition, a junior board member of the Scott County Chamber of Commerce, the stage manager of Scottsburg High School Theatre, the vice president of Student Council, the vice president of Sunshine Society, and more.

She plans to attend IUPUI to major in biology, with a career goal of becoming a pediatrician.

?I would like to express the most heartfelt thanks to the Scott County Community Foundation and the Scholarship Committee for their commitment to my future endeavors,? said Lara. ?I am truly blessed to be able to pursue my educational goals without financial burden, and I look forward to exploring the opportunities that this scholarship will provide.?

?The finalists were all great students, and it was a difficult decision for the committee,? said Scholarship Committee Chairperson Tinisha Bowles-Densford. ?We are confident that Lara will be an outstanding representative of our community, and we know that she will be very successful in the future. Congratulations, Lara!?

Students were judged based on community involvement, extra-curricular activities, work activities, academics, financial considerations, honors and awards, letters of recommendation and two essays. Seven students advanced to the interview portion as finalists. After the scholarship committee narrowed the field, the finalists? names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the Scott County recipient. ICI serves as the collective voice for the state?s 29 private, nonprofit colleges and universities, and serves as the administrator for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program.

Lilly Endowment created the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program for the 1998-1999 school year and has supported the program every year since with tuition grants totaling in excess of $439 million. More than 5,000 Indiana students have received the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship since the program?s inception. There were 143 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships awarded this year. The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.