One Scott County student has been named recipient of a full-tuition, four-year scholarship as the Scott County Community Foundation 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Madelyn Shelton of Scottsburg High School will receive full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana of her choice, and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. She joins 37 other Lilly Scholar recipients from Scott County since 1998.

Madelyn is the daughter of James and Michelle Shelton of Austin. She serves as manager of the Scottsburg Warrior football team, is a member of the National Honor Society, is active in the EMPOWER Youth Coalition, Scott County Partnership, Tobacco Youth Coalition and Scott County GOP, among many other activities.

Madelyn plans to attend Hanover College to major in history with a minor in political science.

?Receiving the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship is nothing short of life changing,? said Madelyn. ?Possibilities that were unimaginable a few short weeks ago are now within reach. Because of the stability that the Lilly Scholarship has provided I am able to consider areas of study from a prospective of passion, not merely financial practicality.?

?I am very excited about the next chapter of my journey and the experiences that the scholarship will afford me,? said Madelyn. ?This opportunity means more to me and my family than what could ever be known. I am humbled and grateful to have been selected.?

?We had many great candidates for the 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship!? shared Community Foundation Scholarship Committee Chairperson Josh Stigdon. ?The youth of Scott County continue to impress the Foundation and its Scholarship Committee with amazing academic achievements and exemplary community involvement.?

?It is with great pleasure that we announce Madelyn Shelton as the recipient of the 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship,? said Stigdon. ?We are positive she will continue to make Scott County proud in her future achievements.?

Students were judged based on community involvement, extra-curricular activities, work activities, academics, financial considerations, honors and awards, letters of recommendation and two essays. Eight students advanced to the interview portion as finalists. After the scholarship committee narrowed the field to one nominee and two alternates, the finalists? names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the Scott County recipient. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

There were 143 scholarships awarded statewide, and there have been 4,483 students who were awarded scholarships since the inception of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program. Lilly Endowment has invested over $392 million into this initiative.