Shown are YGC seniors Haley Mullins, Jordan Shuler, Lindsey Boswell, Evan Howser and Kaleb Mount (missing Tori Rone and Taylor Means).

The Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council, a program of the Scott County Community Foundation, awarded almost $4,900 in grants to youth-related projects in the community at an annual dinner held May 27 at Mid-America Science Park.

  • Austin Elementary School received three grants. The kindergarten classes will enjoy a new Lego club made possible through a $317 grant. Third grade students will be engaged with hands-on technology through robotics and coding, and a technology club will be established for third through fifth grades with a grant for $559. The fifth grade classrooms will purchase several sets of books with a grant for $800.
  • Austin Middle School received two grants: Students with special needs will gain experience in everyday activities involving social interaction by visiting local restaurants, through a grant for $400. The Archery Team received $602 to purchase archery equipment for the middle school team as well as for a summer camp for middle and high school students.
  • Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) of Scott County received $200 to provide a ?Back Yard Bash? for the children they serve.
  • Lexington Good Faith Preschool received $400 to provide free preschool for children in Lexington Township.
  • Scott County School District 1 Special Services Unit received $500 to purchase supplies for the Blessings in a Backpack Student Distribution program, in which students with disabilities deliver the food packages to the school buildings.
  • Scott County Special Olympics received $400 to purchase equipment and supplies for athletes.
  • Scottsburg Kiwanis Club received $300 for the Bringing Up Grades program, provides incentives for third graders in both school districts to improve their grades.
  • United Way of Scott County received $400 for the Dolly Parton Imagination Library, which provides free books for children every month from birth through age five.

?We were thrilled to have so many great projects to choose from this year,? said grants committee chairperson Josiah Croasdell. ?We are confident that our funds will be used effectively and benefit many youth as possible in Scott County. We were especially happy to see such creative ideas to further education, involvement and leadership within our schools.?

Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council officers and committee chairpersons were also recognized at the annual dinner. Voting members of the YGC include Lindsey Boswell, Makalynn Brown, Josiah Croasdell, Hannah Dickerson, Sara Edwards, Justice Gabbard, Alexa Howser, Evan Howser, Isaak Mount, Kaleb Mount, Haley Mullins, Tori Rone, Jordan Shuler, Emma Waskom, and Caleb White of Scottsburg High School; Miranda Baker, Hannah Brown, Elle Fleenor, Ally Justice, Eliza Mount, and Lyla Waskom, Scottsburg Middle School; Lauren Turner of Turner Academy Homeschool; and Lyndie Foster, homeschooled.

Officers are Kaleb Mount, president; Evan Howser, vice president; Eliza Mount, secretary; and Isaak Mount, treasurer. Committee chairpersons include Jordan Shuler and Lindsey Boswell, asset development; Josiah Croasdell and Tori Rone, grants; Haley Mullins and Emma Waskom, community service; Alexa Howser and Lauren Turner, governance.

In addition, due to the overwhelming response of students who wished to serve on the YGC, the community service committee was expanded several years ago and membership was opened to anyone who wished to serve. The committee performs monthly service projects throughout the community, such as stocking shelves at the Clearinghouse, bowling for Big Brothers Big Sisters, assembling water purification kits for New Life International, placing flags on veterans? gravesites for Memorial Day and much more. Members on this committee include Jordan Gibson and Jakeb Watts of Austin High School; Nick Henderson of Austin Middle School; Becky Foster and Emily Foster, homeschool; Aubrey Asdell of Lexington Elementary School; Aidan Crites and Rachael Mount of Scottsburg Elementary School; Melea Luttrell, Addie Borden, Mia Collins of Vienna-Finley Elementary School; Avery Kendall, Emily Justice, Ryan Howser, Brinley Soloe, Abby Doriot, Gavin Borden, Alex Witt, Jaylyn Cross, Gavin Collins, Jameson Hale, Eric Marcum, Macy Funk, Jenna Buckner, Ethan Mullins, Kristin Hosea, Lexi Edwards, and Jackson Campbell of Scottsburg Middle School; Patrick Lincoln, Dylan Hancock, Taylor Funk, Taylor Means, Paige Barrett, Sarah Thomas and Jake Murphy of Scottsburg High School.

Graduating seniors were also honored for their service. They included Lindsey Boswell, Evan Howser, Kaleb Mount, Haley Mullins and Jordan Shuler. Lindsey, Kaleb and Jordan were part of a class of YGC members who started as fifth grade students, finishing with eight years of service. Hannah Dickerson was honored for volunteering the most hours with the YGC.

In total, 58 YGC members volunteered 998 hours from Oct. 1 through the end of May between 36 different meetings and events, shared Scott County Community Foundation Executive Director Jaime Toppe. According to government figures, the value of their volunteerism is over $23,500, shared Toppe.

Applications for new members on the Community Service Committee should be submitted by Sept. 5. For more information on the Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council please call Jaime Toppe at 752-2057 or email You may also stop in the office at 60 N. Main St., Scottsburg, or visit