YGC Vice President Kaleb Mount congratulates grant recipient Tammy Rice, who represented Austin High School’s Show Choir Dimensions.

The Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council awarded over $3,400 in grants to youth-related projects in the community at an annual dinner held June 4 at First Southern Baptist Church.

Austin High School received $275 to purchase stage curtains and backdrops for the Dimensions Show Choir.

Austin Middle School received $400 to provide restaurant outings for students with disabilities, in order to teach social skills.

Lexington Good Faith Preschool received $200 to assist with transportation costs for students at the free preschool in Lexington Township.

Scott County 4-H received $337 to purchase dog obedience equipment.

Scottsburg High School received $600 to purchase equipment for the archery club.

Scottsburg Middle School received $800 to purchase a scoring machine for the archery team.

United Way of Scott County received $800 for the Dolly Parton Imagination Library initiative, which provides free books for children every month from birth through five years.

?I think that this was a successful year and everybody worked hard for the youth in our community,? said Grants Committee Chairperson Braxton Soloe. ?It?s been a blessing for everyone that?s been involved and I can?t wait until next year.?

Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council officers and committee chairpersons were also recognized. Members of the YGC include Carmen Boley, Brandon Boswell, Lindsey Boswell, Sera Craig, Braden Hale, Evan Howser, Lauren Howser, Kevin Jentzen, Kaleb Mount, Haley Mullins, Jordan Shuler, Braxton Soloe, Hunter Steinkamp, Luke Taylor and Tyler White of Scottsburg High School; Isaak Mount, Emma Waskom and Caleb White of Scottsburg Middle School; Caity Rice of Austin High School; Lauren Turner of Turner Academy Homeschool; and Josiah Croasdell of Christian Academy of Indiana.

Officers are Carmen Boley, president; Kaleb Mount, vice president; Braden Hale, secretary; and Brandon Boswell, treasurer. Committee chairpersons include Tyler White, asset development; Braxton Soloe, grants; Kevin Jentzen, governance; Lindsey Boswell and Evan Howser, community service.

In addition, due to the overwhelming response of students who wished to serve on the YGC, the community service committee was expanded a few years ago and membership was opened to anyone who wished to serve. The committee performs monthly service projects throughout the community, such as stocking shelves at the Clearinghouse, bowling for Big Brothers Big Sisters, assembling water purification kits for New Life International and much more. Members on this committee include Justice Gabbard of Grace Christian Academy; Hannah Dickerson, Alexa Howser, Eliza Mount and Izzy Myszak of Scottsburg Middle School; Elle Fleenor and Jordan Thomas of Vienna-Finley Elementary School; Ally Ingalls of Austin High School; and Minwoo Noh of Christian Academy of Indiana.

Graduating seniors were also honored for their service. They include Caity Rice and Hunter Steinkamp, who shared their plans for college.

For more information on the Scott County Youth Grantmaking Council or to donate to the endowment fund for future grants, please call 752-2057, email info@www.scottcountyfoundation.org or mail to P.O. Box 25, Scottsburg, IN 47170. You may also stop in the office at 60 N. Main St., Scottsburg, or visit the website at www.www.scottcountyfoundation.org or www.facebook.com/ScottCountyYGC.